47 townships, 22,000 dead?!

According to DVB and other sources, the latest state-run media reports put the revised death toll from Cyclone Nargis at least 22,000. DVB says that this figure was given on the radio today. To date the state-run news has not been updated on the government website.

State media has also announced that the May 10 referendum on a new constitution will be postponed in 47 townships until May 24 and will go ahead in the rest of the country.

The 47 townships as given by DVB are:

Irrawaddy Division: 7 townships

Ngaputaw, Laputta, Mawlamyaing Island, Pyapon, Bogalay, Kyeitlat, Dedaye

Rangoon Division: 40 townships (most of the division)

Tamwe, South Okkalapa, Dagon Port, Southern Dagon New Town, Northern Dagon New Town, Eastern Dagon New Town, Dawbon, Pazundaung, Botataung, Mingalartaungnyunt, North Okkalapa, Yankin, Thaketa, Thingankyun, Kamayut, Kyimyindaing, Kyauktada, Sanchaung, Seikkan, Dagon, Panbedan, Bahan, Mayangone, Lathar, Hlaing, Lanmadaw, Ahlone, Thanlyin, Kyaukdan, Thonehkwa, Khayan, Twente, Kunchankone, Kawhmu, Dala, Seikkyikanaungtoe, Insein, Mingalardone, Shwepyithar, Hlaingthayar


One response to “47 townships, 22,000 dead?!

  1. Pingback: Burma: 22,000 Dead And Rising « deathpower

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s